New Beginnings

I was feeling nostalgic. Do people blog anymore? Does it even matter? This blog was such a fun outlet for me 10 years ago when I tried to give up shopping for a year and subjected everyone to my outfit ensembles and bizarre stories. I think I’ve hidden most of the posts except the “style tips and tricks for a pear shape,” but let’s go down memory lane and take a look at some of these gems:

My first outfit post, Jan 2, 2013. Nothing says fashion blogger like a mailbox and some dead grass. The bonus you probably missed is the dead Christmas tree by my feet that we put out on the curb. Also, pretty sure I still have that necklace. Pretty sure I shouldn’t still have it.
The “Short Suit”
The Over-Accessorizing
The “Look How Cool I Am”
The “Victorian Biker”
The “Rescuing Animals After a Tornado”
The “Pose in Front of Strange Murals to Look Interesting”
The Quintessential “Pose with a Beverage” (and my baby face!)

Now that I am halfway through my last year in my 30s, I thought I’d dust this old blog off and see where it takes me. As my 40s loom before me like a dark tunnel ready to engulf a speeding train, I am taking stock of where I’m at. Personally. Spiritually. Professionally. And of course, fashion-ally 😉 If anything, I think it will be a therapeutic journey to document this next phase of life.

A year quietly came and went that marked my divorce. A year passed that ushered in a new relationship. Right before the divorce, I left the university after 13 years and started a new position in a different industry. In that same year, I lost two of my four pets (and the last of the three cats is showing clear signs that she is gearing up for her departure to the Rainbow Bridge). My dog also turned 13 in December! Going through this last year with four aging pets and learning about the challenges of home ownership in a house and yard that is ridiculous for one person to maintain has been an adventure in and of itself.

I probably should have been writing my way through last year, which I did to an extent in a journal (that probably should be burned one day), but ultimately it was just too much to even consider. As someone who is terrified of change, I took a revolving door of it right in the kisser. There were many days I didn’t think I could get out of bed (sometimes I didn’t), never mind articulate what was happening. Additionally, I carried and still carry a fair bit of guilt about other people having it worse, and not focusing on the blessings- which have been many.

I’m still trying to decide how much to share about past and current struggles, as I have no desire to drag my ex husband through the mud (we’ve both moved on), and want to protect and honor my current relationship. That being said, what is the point of going through hard things if you can’t use them to help someone else? So, my challenge will be to address the struggles and triggers without airing too much dirty laundry, while still making indulgent outfit posts. Wish me luck!

Present Day, Still a Lover of Bows

Leave a comment